Council Of Europe Agreement On The Abolition Of Visas For Refugees

April 9, 2021

– Recommendation 787 (1976) on harmonizing eligibility practices under the 1951 Geneva Convention on the Status of Refugees and the 1967 Protocol; The borderless Schengen area cannot function effectively without a common visa policy that facilitates the entry of legal visitors into the EU while strengthening internal security. The EU has adopted a common policy on visas for transit or planned stays in the territory of a Schengen state, lasting no more than 90 days over a period of 180 days and transit in the international transit zones of the airports of the Schengen states. In 2016, the 26 Schengen states issued 13.9 million “Schengen visas”. Full data on Schengen visas can be find below on this page. The agreement between the European Union and the Republic of Moldova amending the agreement between the European Community and the Republic of Moldova to facilitate the issuance of visas (modification of the agreement between the European Community and the Republic of Moldova on the facilitation of visa issuance) may also enable EU Member States to individually negotiate agreements on local border traffic with neighbouring third countries. These agreements allow border crossers in well-defined areas to cross the EU`s external borders under certain conditions without the need for a visa. – Swiss-Federal Republic or Germany: agreement of 4 May 1962 on the abolition of the visa requirement for refugees (and protocol): – Switzerland-France: agreement of 12 April 1960 on the transfer of refugees, annex and convention of 12 April 1960 on the right of return of humanitarian workers; Visa facilitation agreements are linked to readmission agreements. Readmission agreements define procedures for returning persons (individuals, third-country nationals or stateless persons) to the EU or the partner country of the third country. – Austria-Benelux: 12 June 1964 convention on the residence of refugees under the 195 Convention on the Status of Refugees; So far, the EU has concluded visa facilitation agreements with the following third countries. On the basis of these agreements, both the EU and non-EU nationals benefit from simplified procedures for issuing visas.

1. The Geneva Convention has been ratified by all Council of Europe member states; For statements and reservations, see the annual volume published by the United Nations. Multilateral treaties for which the Secretary-General serves as a custodian. . Views recorded on cambridge core between March 20, 2017 and December 6, 2020. This data is updated every 24 hours. Published online by Cambridge University Press: 20 March 2017 – Recommendation 795 (1977) on the 20th report on the activities of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees. Recommendation 773 (1976) on the situation of de facto reluges; Decisions on visa-free travel to the Schengen area may be the result of bilateral negotiations. They build on the progress made by the countries concerned in implementing important reforms in areas such as strengthening the rule of law, combating organised crime, corruption and illegal immigration, and improving administrative capacity for border control and document security.